Posted by: Steven Harris | September 22, 2008

Doorishness

I’m hard at work in my new job, but having a strange feeling: I have an office!  With a door!  You’ve really made it, Harris! I’ve worked in libraries for over 25 years.  I’ve been an MLS librarian for just over 16 of those years.  In all that time I have NEVER had an office!  It’s been cubicle-city the whole time.  At LSU we had a reference department cubicle area that was separated, makeshift fashion, from the public by nothing more than a range of shelving.  On more than one occasion  I was shushed  by library patrons.

Now I have an office.  It’s kinda nice, I must say.  I can close the door and lock it too.  But I also feel a bit like “the man.”  I suppose I am the man, in a way.  I’m Director of Collections and Acquisitions services and supervise about 17 people.  It’s kind of nice to have the private space to talk with people.  But it does make me feel like I’m not “one of them.”  Is an office a very 1.0 thing?  Oh well.  I’ll have to live with it.  I’m now going to close my office door and turn on some music!


Responses

  1. Steve–music is definitely a nice perk. I agree with the divisive feeling though…hard to laugh with everyone and be “one of them” when you can’t hear their jokes. I like to leave the door open when I can and the blinds up. A little more inviting…

    Congrats on the new job again, though!


Leave a Reply

Categories

