Posted by: Steven Harris | September 17, 2008

Overworked and Overwhelmed

I’ve made the move to New Mexico and have started working at the University of New Mexico Libraries.  Whew! Lots to learn and a whole new environment to explore.  You will hear more from me about issues 2.0 before long.

On top of all that I’m dealing with the shocking news that one of my favorite writers, David Foster Wallace, killed himself last week.  A bit depressing.  A few really shallow critiques of his work only view it as “postmodern.”  But what I know of his life and work suggests that “humanistic” is a better adjective.  I hope I can emulate the concern and kindness that he exhibited in life.


Leave a Reply

Categories

